Review: Spring: An Anthology for the Changing Seasons

‘Spring: An Anthology for the Changing Seasons’ is the first book in a series of four and is a collection of poetry and prose put together by Melissa Harrison and The Wildlife Trust. As the title suggests the entries paint a delightful picture in our minds of the natural world waking up from the winter ready for the spring, often picking out the more subtle changes that are not always as obvious straight away.

Entries in the book range from 975AD to present day nature writers and include famous names such as William Shakespeare and George Orwell. These earlier works are a great reminder of the timelessness of the British seasons, how most of the changes we see today were also experienced by people over 1,000 years ago.

I found this book an absolute delight to read! As spring is one of my favourite seasons reading this was a great reminder of what is to come over the next few months and the beautiful changes in sound and colour that will stretch across Britain.

Buy the book at:

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s